Norton doesn’t like NotepadCrypt anymore

It seems that I can no longer use Norton Internet Security’s SONAR feature. Why? It keeps deleting my favourite text editor, NotepadCrypt, on the grounds that “fewer than 100 users in the Norton community have used this file”. It offers no other explanation.

I couldn’t care less if I’m the only NotepadCrypt user in the Norton community. The least I would expect is more detailed information as to what it has done that warrants its removal. I’ve used Norton Internet Security and NotepadCrypt together for years, and this has never been a problem before.

I can tell Norton to restore the file, and ask that it shall NOT be included in future searches, but it still gets deleted the next time I try to open it. And since it’s my favourite text editor, it tends to get opened a lot.

There appears to be no other way to exclude NotepadCrypt from searches, nor a way to tell Norton that the file is in fact safe. Indeed, when I use Norton to search the NotepadCrypt for viruses, it discovers no threats whatsoever.

I’m a bit puzzled.

UPDATE: Finally it seems that Norton has agreed to leave NotepadCrypt.exe alone. An automatic search-while-inactive trapped it again, but this time when I asked for that file to be excluded from future searches it surprised me by doing as I told it. Sonar no longer kicks in when I open it. Apparently persistence pays off. (13. Dec. 2010)

2 Responses to Norton doesn’t like NotepadCrypt anymore

  1. Random user says:

    if you’re using Norton then you’ve failed big time. Norton/Symantec products suck.

    Seriously, the first thing I do when someone brings a Norton infected PC to me is remove it using their Norton removal tool then put AVG (or other free alternative on there) instead.

    Big performance boost for the machine and no more of this sort of crap.

    • inshadowz says:

      If you had said this a few years ago I would have been inclined to agree. Norton software was bloated, horribly sluggish, hogged resourced, and rendered all but the very fastest computers useless for doing anything besides running Norton. Installation, and uninstallation, would happily take 15–30 minutes (not including download time). In addition it tended to flourish with security requests that the average user was hard pressed to understand, something that reflected greatly on my tech support job. I, too, preferred AVG, because it did the job so much more efficiently, and with far less hassle for the user.

      In more recent years, however, Norton got a complete overhaul. It now installs in 1–3 minutes (not including download time), and you hardly even notice that it is there anymore. I use it myself (as should be apparent from my above post), and I can attest that I find no noticeable difference in performance between present day Norton Internet Security and, say, AVG. If anything, Norton seems more streamlined in operation. Indeed, I notice very little reduction in performance between running Norton, and running no security software at all. 

      My old laptop from 2004, a Toshiba Satellite A10, struggled mightily with Norton in previous years, and was declared AVG territory. Now it has no problem with Norton whatsoever, and AVG has for the time being been confined to the bench, until such time as I need that Norton license elsewhere.

      Of course one runs into the occasional problem now and then. But Norton is far from alone in that respect, nor the worst, and more often than not the problems tend to arise on computers that are well on their way to needing a full Windows reinstall, and at that point switching to AVG or others will have little or no positive effect.

      If, however, for any reason, one has trouble using Norton, doesn’t like it, or simply doesn’t have a commercial license and is looking for a free alternative, I have no problem recommending AVG.

Leave a Reply

