iPhone audio volume problem with Viber

Update 2, 11-Jan-2014: I haven’t followed up on this one in a long time (out of sight is out of mind and all that), but I ought perhaps mention that the Viber and music volume issue as per today is solved, at least on my iPhone 3GS. If you still experience the problem, make sure you have the latest available version of Viber. If you still have problems, it might be wise to address the Viber team directly.
 

Update: The Viber people have, to my pleasant surprise, responded to this blog entry (see comments below), and they say that the problem will be ironed out in the next update. Thanks, guys! I’m eagerly awaiting🙂
 

I use the Viber app on an iPhone 3GS with iOS 5.0. When I use the Viber app for making or receiving calls, or sending or receiving messages, the audio volume on the iPhone dips considerably – which is a nuisance if I listen to music. Apparently this volume dip affects sounds from all apps, not just the Music (previosly iPod) app. I’ve also heard of the same problem occurring on iPhone 4 and 4S.

This happens when Viber …

  • Receives or sends a message.
  • Receives or makes a call.
  • Receives notification that a contact has started using Viber.

Workaround

  1. Double-tap the Home button to bring up the Multitasking bar. Then double-tap the Home button again to exit the Multitasking bar. This should bring the volume back to normal.
  2. If not, bring the Viber app to front and repeat the double-tap operation described in step 1.
  3. If still no avail, tap Home to get to the main screen, double-tap Home againg and close Viber.
  4. If that still doesn’t help, perform a soft-reset (hold the Home and Standby buttons until the phone blanks out, then turn it back on).

I would like to point out that I have never had to go further down the list than number 3, which is good because on my phone a soft reset easily takes more than two minutes, which really cuts into my music listening.

Some suggest uninstalling and installing Viber. This did not fix the problem on my phone, although I got the volume back until the next message ticked in, but if the above doesn’t help you may want to give that a go as well.

I also point out that this four-step doesn’t actually solve the problem, but allows you a quick recovery whenever it happens, which to me, I hate to say, is a lot.

Alternative solution

The above problem only occurs to me when I use Viber, which in itself is a great app but sometimes such a small bug can get on one’s nerves, especially when one is trying to give one’s newly acquired music album a good listening-through on the little Apple thingy. I have however not encountered this problem with another messaging app called WhatsApp Messenger, which works pretty much the same way as Viber messaging, including links and pictures. Since I use Viber mainly for messaging, not voice calls, the WhatsApp Messenger is a great alternative. Note: Unlike Viber, WhatsApp is not free, but presently costs a manageable USD 0.99 (NOK 7.00).

If anyone knows of a permanent solution to the Viber problem, I’m all ears (feel free to place a comment below).

References:

Disclaimer:

I am not in any way affiliated with Viber, WhatsApp or Apple. I am simply an iPhone user who wants to get the most out of my product, and if possible help others as well.

 

16 Responses to iPhone audio volume problem with Viber

  1. Viber Team says:

    Hi,

    This is a member of the Viber R&D Team!

    Thank you for letting us know!

    The new version, 2.2, for iPhone will be available in the appstore for your upgrade shortly. Please upgrade to this version, it should fix the issue shortly.

    Thank you,
    Viber Team

    • inshadowz says:

      Thank you for replying🙂 I’m looking forward to the update.

    • Eyal says:

      Hello, i’ve been having the same problem with the 2.1.5.270 version:)
      i saw your message from about a month ago, and wondering if the 2.2 is already out? cause i don’t see any update in my Appstore app
      help would be appreciated🙂

      • inshadowz says:

        Hi Eyal🙂 So far I’ve seen no update to Viber for iOS. The latest version available in App Store is still 2.1.5 (released on March 17) which is the same as when I wrote this blog post. I guess this simply means we have to be patient, and possibly ponder the meaning of the word “shortly”.

      • Viber Team says:

        Hi Eyal,

        We are working these days on version 2.2, which will hopefully be released soon if all goes as planned.

        Stay tuned for news and updates🙂

  2. Viber Team says:

    Our pleasure to be here🙂

    If you would like to receive more information on Viber to write about, we could add you to our mailing list of blog/forum owners, where we occasionally announce news and updates concerning the app.

    If you’re interested, email us at the address with which we’re writing this comment, and request to join our list.

    • sue bradley says:

      Hi, I enjoy using Viber: but do not hear any sound when a message or call arrives. Android samsung Galaxy phone. Anyone else have a solution. I have uninstalled and reinstalled….yet to see if that helped. Sbrads

      • Viber Team says:

        Hi,

        Have you made sure your volume settings (Android’s) are turned all the way up?
        Does this problem occur only when Viber is running in the background and receiving a call/text, or also when it’s open on the foreground and receiving a call?

    • Eyal says:

      Hello again Guys,
      It’s almost 4 months since the last update! We are pateintly waiting for the new update, van you at least give us an approximate date of release?
      Viber is really great but still full of crashes and that sound problem
      Really gets on your nerves sometimes.
      Your work is highly appreciated, thanks from
      The heart, without viber it would be hard to stay in touch with my parents and friends from my home country.
      Yours,
      Eyal

    • inshadowz says:

      I just got the updated version (2.2.0.2962), but have not had opportunity to test it yet. Will update here as soon as I see how it works.

      • Eyal Shaheen says:

        Updated and works perfectly, it’s a whole new app! I love it! Thanks alot guys:))
        I have a suggestion for the next upgrade though: an option to turn viber voices on and off! Why not?
        Anyway i can definitely live with this version! Thanks again!

      • Viber Team says:

        @inshadowz –
        Enjoy it, and we would love to hear your feedback🙂

        @Eyal Shaheen –
        Thanks for the kind compliments!
        Customized volume settings for Viber is something we are planning to add in the future. Stay tuned for news and updates🙂

  3. Marce says:

    I had installed viber version 2.3.1 and I am having sounds problems. Yes, my volume is to its highest.

  4. Charles ssebunnya says:

    Whenever I receive a call on Viber I can’t hear anything yet the caller hears me well

Leave a Reply

