Kjære NAV / Dear Social Department

Åpen respons til et brev fra det lokale NAV-kontoret.

An open response to a letter from the local branch of the Norwegian Social Services. English version below.

Kjære NAV.

Jeg er hemningsløst henrykt over i dag, den trettiende mai, 2013, å ha mottatt deres skriv, datert av dere den fjortende mai samme år, påført poststempel den tjueniende, med svarfrist innen tjuesyvende mai.

Det jeg nå lurer en smule på er hvordan jeg skal kunne besvare et brev innen 27. mai, to dager før det ble sendt, og tre dager før jeg mottok det. Jeg har saumfart deres hjemmesider for beskrivelse av fremgangsmåte, men så langt har dette ikke frembragt noe resultat. Min DeLorean er dessverre per i dag ikke kjøredyktig da den sliter med et uheldig eksistensproblem, så jeg er avhengig av deres ekspertise på området.

Alternativet må jo være at brevet har tilbragt en anonym tilværelse i drøye to uker nederst i en papirbunke fra det øyeblikk det ble skrevet til det endelig ble sendt, og det kan jeg rett og slett ikke få meg til å tro. til de grader tregt går det vel ikke der borte hos dere?

Med vennlig hilsen,

Meg.

And, as promised, English subtitles for the Norwegian-challenged:

Dear Social Department.

I am overcome with glee over having received today, on the thirtieth of May the year of 2013, your communique dated May the fourteenth, bearing a postage stamp from the twenty-ninth, and urging me to reply before the twenty-seventh.

Now, I’m somewhat curious as to how I am supposed to reply to a letter at least two days before it was sent, and three days before I received it. I have rummaged through your website for signs of guidance to that effect, but so far come up with nothing helpful. Unfortunately my DeLorean is not currently in working condition as it suffers from an utter and complete existence failure, so I depend entirely on your expertise in this area.

The only alternative would be that the letter spent an anonymous existence for some two weeks at the bottom of a pile of paper, from the moment it was written until it was finally sent, and I just can’t make myself believe this. Things can’t possibly be moving that slowly around your office?

Best regards,

Me.

Leave a Reply

