Internappletional

I’ve no idea where this apple comes from. It could be locally grown here in Norway, but then again it might as easily have been picked in an orchard in Spain or Argentina, or anywhere else for all I know, and transported halfway across the world to end up in my hand.

(I’m making a point of not checking the other apples in the bowl for telltale stickers. I prefer, for the moment, the sense of mystery.)

Untitled
Photo © Bjørnar Andre Haveland

This apple may well have grown on a tree in a country that I’ve never been to, in a town that I’ve never heard of. The nutrients within it came from the soil upon which that apple tree stood, soil which in turn had been fed with compost from plants and animals that, in their turn, had fed and grown on the same land. It was hydrated by local rains and groundwater. I’m about to eat a portion of a completely different part of the world, and by doing so I become a little more that part of the world myself. With every apple or grape, and every other item that I eat and drink, which come from elsewhere in the world, my earthly being is the sum of an international conglomerate of bits and pieces of other countries and cultures.

It makes me wonder if other people think the same before they take the first bite of an apple.

10 Responses to Internappletional

  1. Pat says:

    I will now. 🙂 This is the first time in the history of the world that such a thing is possible. It’s not just Ideas that are being shared.

    • inshadowz says:

      All one world, matey🙂

      • Pat says:

        And I’m loving it! I’m old. When I was a kid, if you’d have told me one day I’d be “talking” to people all over the world, I’d have thought you needed your head examined. This is a very exciting world for me. Now if we could only get the governments to play nice… (Talk about demented ideas!)

      • inshadowz says:

        I’m amazed by the fact that we live, at least to a considerable degree, in the Science Fiction stories that I read as a kid. I got hooked on Asimov and Clarke at around 14 years old, reading stories they wrote long before I was born. Book films? Global communicators? Viewscreen telephones? Electronic assistants? It’s reality right here! Now, if only we could get those hoverboards and flying DeLoreans we were promised…

      • Pat says:

        I know whereof you speak! I would add Heinlein and Bradbury to your two. The golden age of science fiction. Most of what we have today is rooted in what they were doing in the 40’s and 50’s. A hoverboard would be great! And not that far off! 🙂 At my age I’m leaning towards teleportation. Airports are getting to be quite an ordeal! (Oh, I brought home a bouquet of fresh flowers the other day. Fresh from Peru! Wow!!!)

      • inshadowz says:

        I had probably read a bit of Heinlein and Bradbury at that age, or at least excerpts from their novels in various anthologies, gathered by Norwegian sci-fi authors Bing* and Bringsværd, translated to Norwegian. Though there were so many authors featured in those anthologies, their names would be lost in the crowd, so to speak.

        * no relation to Microsoft’s search engine, though Microsoft did buy the web domain bing.no off of him when they launched it.

        My first Asimov book was Foundation, translated to Norwegian. After that I’ve read everything in English (apart from a few Norwegian authors, whose names are now mostly lost in the mists of time and lack of ‘total recall’).

      • Pat says:

        I had to look up Bing and Bringsværd. They certainly did a lot to bring science fiction to Norway. Too bad the English speaking world didn’t return the favor. A quick search didn’t turn up any of their science fiction that’s been translated into English. (I did find Bringsværd’s children’s stories which I’ll have to have a look at. Second childhood, you know.) Perhaps that will be corrected in the future.

      • inshadowz says:

        They were pretty much “on a mission” to raise science fiction from its then status as “trash” or “fringe” literature in Norway. And it seems to have paid off big time. I’d love to see their works represented abroad. If I had a say in the matter, I’d probably, purely for sentimental reasons, begin with “The Chronicles of the Starship Alexandria”, a four book series by Bing, and “Ker Shuz” by Bringsværd.

        If you want to visit my childhood, try Bringsværd’s books about “Ruffen: The Sea Serpent Who Couldn’t Swim”. I loved those as a kid.

      • Pat says:

        Sea serpents are cool! 🙂 I’ll look for that.

  2. Reidun Hanserud says:

    Not very likely!😀

Leave a Reply

