A.I. – Made by the Machine

The Brain Tree, where the A.I. lives.
A neural network of neurons branching,
and digital magic happening.
(Click image to zoom)

I uttered random words
and pushed a button
The image formed
as if by the rolling of a die

Artificial
Algorithmic
Effortless
Soulless
Synthetic

Made by the machine
like cheap plastic.


I am personally sceptical of calling purely A.I. generated images “art”; it devaluates the concept of art, and trivialises the value of the effort and skill that goes into the act of creating “real” works of art. The topic is thorougly and vigorously debated elsewhere, so I won’t go in depth in this article. I do however believe that my little poem describes my sentiments well enough. The illustration is of course generated by A.I., and took me about as much effort as the poem suggests. Don’t get me wrong; it’s a fascinating tool (or toy). I’m quite happy with the result, and I had fun making it, but I would hesistate to categorise it as “a work of art”. Opinions will divide, as always. I’m not aiming to spark a debate, merely to air my own feelings and frustrations. Thank you for reading!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑