The Bridge of Girls fame


Åsgårdstrand, Norway.

There once were three girls on that pier. Three girls, and they called the pier a bridge, and a guy called Edvard came and painted them, and they called the painting “The Girls on the Bridge”. You may have heard about them. They had packed up and left by the time I got here. This isn’t my first time in Åsgårdstrand; it’s in the neighbourhood, so to speak. Munch’s house (Edvard the painting man’s last name was Munch) is still up there, somewhere to the right of the rest.


“Pikene på Broen” by Edvard Munch (1901), courtesy of Nasjonalsamlingen.

I’ve been mulling for a while over maybe capturing Edvard’s point of view, but there are two things. One, there needs to be more green on that tree over there by the house, and two, I need to be over on that pier. I’ll get it right, eventually.

instagram | flickr | facebook

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑