Suddenly Deer


Surprise meeting with a family of roe deer at the local cemetery. These two youngsters, and a grownup (probably the mom) just around the corner.

And here’s we, my wife and I, and our dog who’s seen deer, like, never, and I’ve got totally the wrong lens for the occasion. Fortunately the wee woof was too baffled to bark, which gave me a mere minor moment to labour the longer lens out of my backpack (and to quietly curse my decision to leave the longest lens at home, because what were the odds that I’d need it?).

These two kindly stayed put long enough that I could fire off a couple dozen shots or so (most of which practically identical to this), before gaily gallivanting into the greenery as if we were nothing but yesterday’s air. Then mom came out from behind the church, cast us the briefest of glances, and trotted after the younglings. Left behind was just the quiet cemetery, and us.

And that’s when it started raining.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑